Obtaining a Marriage License in Oregon by County

STATEWIDE REQUIREMENTS:

  • All licenses are subject to a three-day waiting period before a ceremony may take place. Licenses are valid for 60 days after the waiting period. If you fail to perform the ceremony within 60 days, you must apply for a new license.
  • Both parties must identify on their application the legal names that they will be taking after the marriage. 
  • Medical examinations and blood tests are no longer required by the State of Oregon in order to obtain a marriage license. 
  • In general, both parties should plan to appear in-person and present a valid government-issued ID. 

You can fill out the application online in advance through many county clerk’s websites (note: when marriage becomes legal for same-sex couples in Oregon, the online application will be updated to allow same-sex couples to apply).

For the most up-to-date information, check the county's website or contact the county clerk's office directly.

Three-day waiting period may be waived for "good cause" but each county has its own requirements. Check with the county clerk for specific requirements.

BAKER COUNTY
Office hours:
none listed
Fee: $54 -Payable by cash, check or credit card (cards subject to additional fee)
Three-day waiting period waiver fee: $10

BENTON COUNTY
Office hours
: 8 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.  Monday to Friday (closed holidays)
Fee: $52 - Payment may be made via check, cash, money order or recognized PIN debit or credit card
Three-day waiting period waiver fee: No fee

CLACKAMAS COUNTY
Office hours:
8:30 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. Monday to Thursday, 8:30 a.m. - 2:30 p.m. on Friday
Fee:
$60 - Payable in cash, certified check or money order
Three-day waiting period waiver fee: $15

CLATSOP COUNTY
Office hours: 8:30 a.m. - 5 p.m. Monday to Friday
Fee: $50 - Payable in cash, check or money order
Three-day waiting period waiver fee: $10

COLUMBIA COUNTY
Office hours: 8:30 a.m. - 5 p.m. Monday to Thursday
Fee: $50 (forms of payment accepted unknown)
Three-day waiting period waiver fee: No fee

COOS COUNTY
Office hours: 8 a.m. - noon and 1 p.m. to 5 p.m. Monday to Friday
Fee: $50 - Payable in cash or money order
Three-day waiting period waiver fee: $10

CROOK COUNTY
Office hours: 8 a.m. - 5 p.m. Monday to Friday
Fee: $60 - Payable in cash, check or money order
Three-day waiting period waiver fee: $10

CURRY COUNTY
Office hours:  Licenses are issued by appointment only
Fee: $50 - Payable in cash, or money order.
Three-day waiting period waiver fee: $10

DESCHUTES COUNTY
Office hours: 8 a.m. - 4 p.m. Monday to Friday
Fee: $55 -Payable by cash, check or debit ($1 service fee for debit)
Three-day waiting period waiver fee: No fee

DOUGLAS COUNTY
Office hours - Roseburg: 8 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. Monday to Friday
Office hours - Reedsport Annex: 8 a.m. - 1 p.m. and 2 p.m. to 5 p.m. Monday to Friday
Fee: $50 - Payable by cash, certified check, money order or credit/debit card. Reedsport Annex accepts money orders only
Three-day waiting period waiver fee: $10

GILLIAM COUNTY
Office hours: 8:30 a.m. - 5 p.m. Monday to Friday
Fee: $50 (forms of payment accepted unknown)
Three-day waiting period waiver fee: Clerk does not grant waivers

GRANT COUNTY
Office hours: 8 a.m. - 5 p.m. Monday to Friday
Fee: $50 (forms of payment accepted unknown)
Three-day waiting period waiver fee: $10

HARNEY COUNTY
Office hours: 8:30 a.m. - 11 a.m. and 1 p.m. to 4 p.m. Monday to Friday
Fee: $50 - Payable by cash, check or credit card (cards subject to minimal service fee)
Three-day waiting period waiver fee: No fee

HOOD RIVER COUNTY
Office hours: 9 a.m. - 4 p.m. Monday to Friday
Fee: $50 - Payable in cash, check, money order, Visa, Mastercard, or Discover (3% convenience fee added for all debit and credit card transactions)
Three-day waiting period waiver fee: No fee

JACKSON COUNTY
Office hours: 8:30 a.m. - 11:15 a.m. and 12:30 p.m. to 3:30 p.m. Monday to Friday
Fee: $55 - Payable in cash, money order, cashier's check, or credit card (service fees for credit/debit cards may apply)
Three-day waiting period waiver fee: $17

JEFFERSON COUNTY
Office hours: 8 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.  Monday to Friday
Fee: $60 - Payable in cash, check or money order
Three-day waiting period waiver fee: No fee

JOSEPHINE COUNTY
Office hours: 9:30 a.m. - 3:45 p.m. Monday to Friday
Fee: $60 - Payable by cash, check or money order. Credit cards accepted subject to a small usage fee.
Three-day waiting period waiver fee: $10

KLAMATH COUNTY
Office hours: 9 a.m. - 4 p.m. Monday to Friday
Fee: $57.75 - Cash only
Three-day waiting period waiver fee: $10

LAKE COUNTY
Office hours: 8:30 a.m. - 5 p.m. Monday to Friday (closed for lunch between noon and 1 p.m.)
Fee: $50 (forms of payment accepted unknown)
Three-day waiting period waiver fee: No fee

LANE COUNTY
Office hours: 9 a.m. - 11:45 a.m. and 1 p.m. to 3:45 p.m. Monday to Friday
Fee: $60 - Payable in cash or check only
Three-day waiting period waiver fee: $10

LINCOLN COUNTY
Office hours: 8:30 a.m. - 4 p.m. Monday to Friday
Fee: $60 - Cash only
Three-day waiting period waiver fee: $10

LINN COUNTY
Office hours: 8:30 a.m. - 4 p.m. Monday to Friday
Fee: $50 - Cash only
Three-day waiting period waiver fee: No fee

MALHEUR COUNTY
Office hours: 8:30 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. Monday to Friday
Fee: $60 - Payable in cash or money order
Three-day waiting period waiver fee: No fee

MARION COUNTY
Office hours: 8:30 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. Monday to Friday
Fee: $60 - Payable in cash or check
Three-day waiting period waiver fee: No fee

MORROW COUNTY
Office hours: 8 a.m. - noon and 1 p.m. to 5 p.m. Monday to Friday
Fee: $50 (forms of payment accepted unknown)
Three-day waiting period waiver fee: $20

MULTNOMAH COUNTY
Office hours:
9 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. Monday to Friday
Fee:
$60 Cash or certified funds only. No personal checks or credit cards. No refunds.
Three-day waiting period waiver fee: $5 - must be requested at the beginning of the process

POLK COUNTY
Office hours: 8 a.m. - noon and 1 p.m. to 4:30 p.m. Monday to Friday
Fee: $50 - Payable in cash or check
Three-day waiting period waiver fee: No fee - must be requested at the beginning of the process

SHERMAN COUNTY
Office hours: 8 a.m. - 4 p.m. Monday to Friday
Fee: $50 - Payable in cash, money order or cashier's check
Three-day waiting period waiver fee: $10

TILLAMOOK COUNTY
Office hours: 8 a.m. - 5 p.m. Monday to Friday
Fee: $50 - Payable in cash or money order
Three-day waiting period waiver fee: $10 and an extra form. No other requirement necessary.

UMATILLA COUNTY
Office hours: 9 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. Monday to Friday
Fee: $60 - Cash only
Three-day waiting period waiver fee: $10

UNION COUNTY
Office hours: 8:30 a.m. - 5 p.m. Monday to Thursday, 9 a.m. - 4 p.m. on Friday
Fee: $50 - Payable in cash, check or money order
Three-day waiting period waiver fee: No fee

WALLOWA COUNTY
Office hours: 8:30 a.m. - 5 p.m. Monday to Friday
Fee: $50 - Payable in cash, check or money order
Three-day waiting period waiver fee: No fee

WASCO COUNTY
Office hours: 9 a.m. - 11:30 a.m. and 1 p.m. to 3:30 p.m. Monday to Friday
Fee: $50 - Payable in cash or money order
Three-day waiting period waiver fee: $15

WASHINGTON COUNTY
Office hours: 8:30 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. Monday to Friday
Fee: $60 - Payable in cash or check
Three-day waiting period waiver fee: Unknown

WHEELER COUNTY
Office hours: 8 a.m. - noon and 1 p.m. to 4 p.m. Monday to Friday
Fee: $60 - Payable in cash or money order
Three-day waiting period waiver fee: No fee

YAMHILL COUNTY
Office hours: 9 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. Monday to Friday
Fee: $50 - Cash only
Three-day waiting period waiver fee: $20 cash - no other requirements